RSS Feed

Living my dreams before living in them

Posted on

If you are reading this and you are not my mom or my grandma, it is likely you were directed here on Monday by a Facebook post by either Tiny House Blog or Tumbleweed Tiny House Company or a pingback (still not sure what that is) from Tiny House Talk. However you arrived here, thank you for your visit, I hope you like what I have to say and continue to check in on my blog on occasion.

Me on Monday

Monday was a very exciting day for me. After years of appreciating tiny houses from afar, it felt amazing to be able to contribute something and feel included by the movement that encompasses my most passionate ideal. I was giddy with excitement and it must have shown because I went on an audition on Monday, and I got the part.

It’s not a big part, but it’s a big deal to me. Over the last few years, following my dreams has been an unforgiving exercise in futility. My agent even commented “you broke your streak!” excitedly through the phone. My lack of momentum had not gone unnoticed by him, but more importantly, it had weighed heavily on me.

But I’m thankful for all of it. A few tough years forced me to focus on what is really important to me. All I could think, (and still can) is how a tiny home would alleviate some of my financial ills and make pursing my passions a little less stressful. I never would have guessed that in a really weird circuitous way, that a tiny house would help me get a part, before I ever even lived in one!

A co-star on a pilot might not change my life, but the opportunity to be a part of something that is important to me, whether it be the tiny house movement, a new TV show, or learning about sustainability makes me really happy.

About April

Hi! My name is April, I live in Los Angeles, California where I am pursuing an acting career and a B.S. online through the University of Wisconsin. A member of the Screen Actors Guild and the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, I have an agent who sends me out on auditions for television, film and commercials. I have been lucky enough to guest star on Disney, and even to have played a drug addict on A&E. More recently I started a small production company making web series and short films for fun. I just finished my first feature length screenplay, and am beginning work on another. When I was younger I expected to one day make my living solely in the entertainment Industry, however this is proving difficult. There is a lot of competition for fewer and fewer jobs. DVR's, online streaming, reality television, the writer's strike of 2006 and the bad economy have all played a part in the downturn of production. Meanwhile, living in Los Angeles is expensive, and it is difficult to make a living without at least a bachelors degree. It has become clear to me, that in order to continue to pursue my creative goals, I am going to have to focus on a more sustainable lifestyle. A few years ago, I stumbled upon the tiny house movement. Everything about it made sense to me, smaller living for affordability, giving one the time and energy to focus on what they want to do, rather then just survival. As I learned more, the sustainable aspects became important to me, not only for individual sustainability, but for global sustainability, because they are inextricably connected. My hope is to someday build my own tiny house using sustainable principles.

11 responses »

  1. that’s great news an congratulations . we are happy for you ,,,
    isnt karma great ,, positive out,,, positive back,gotta love it

    Reply
  2. I love that headline. Says a lot. Congrats!

    Reply
  3. Yes! That is so awesome. You just look like your going to be famous. You really do!
    I hope you don’t stop blogging when you get rich and famous.

    Reply
    • Jeff, Thank you! I only want fame if it gives me a louder voice to talk about sustainability, and I’d gladly accept riches as long as I’m happy in what I’m doing. I’m fairly new to blogging so I hope my writing improves over time, because I have plenty to say!

      Reply
  4. I love that big beautiful smile you are wearing!!!! Congratulations on your pilot booking….so well deserved. Looks like you hit the ground running in 2012…..told you this was going to be your year…..xoxo

    Reply
  5. This is grandma and I say “Amen” to what Mom wrote……..xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

